Thai PBS World logo 2023 03 04T190638.925

The Election Commission’s (EC) reallocation of constituency MPs has been published in The Royal Gazette and becomes effective today (Saturday).

The EC has completed the redrawing of the constituency map to exclude non-Thai citizens from the calculation of the number of constituency MPs for each of Thailand’s 77 provinces.

Based on the December 31st census of 65,106,581 Thai nationals, the number of people per constituency MP is 162,766.

According to the latest calculation, Bangkok will have the most constituency MPs with 33, followed by Nakhon Ratchasima, with 16.


  • There are two provinces with 11 MPs each. They are Khon Kaen and Ubon Ratchathani.
  • Five provinces will have 10 MPs each. They are Nakhon Si Thammarat, Chon Buri, Chiang Mai, Udon Thani and Buri Ram.
  • Two provinces have 9 MPs each. They are Si Sa Ket and Songkhla.
  • Four provinces with 8 MPs each. They are Nonthaburi, Roi-et, Samut Prakan and Surin.
  • Five provinces with 7 MPs each. They are Chiang Rai, Chaiyaphum, Pathum Thani, Sakhon Nakhon and Surat Thani.
  • Five provinces with 6 MPs each. They are Kalasin, Nakhon Pathom, Nakhon Sawan, Phetchabun and Maha Sarakham.
  • Nine provinces with 5 MPs each. They are Pattani, Lop Buri, Kanchanaburi, Narathiwat, Ayutthaya, Phitsanuloke, Rayong, Ratchaburi and Suphan Buri.
  • Eight provinces with 4 MPs each. They are Kamphaeng Phet, Chachoengsao, Trang, Nakhon Phanom, Lampang, Loei, Saraburi and Sukhothai.
  • 21 provinces with 3 MPs each. They are Tak, Krabi, Chanthaburi, Chumphon, Nan, Bueng Kan, Prachuap Khiri Khan, Prachin Buri, Phayao, Phatthalung, Phichit, Phetchaburi, Phrae, Phuket, Yasothon, Yala, Sa Kaeo, Nong Khai, Nong Bua Lamphu, Samut Sakhon and Uttaradit.
  • 10 provinces with 2 MPs each. They are Chainat, Nakhon Nayok, Phang-nga, Mukdahan, Mae Hong Son, Lamphun, Satun, Ang Thong, Amnat Charoen and Uthai Thani.
  • Four provinces with one MP each. They are Trat, Ranong, Samut Songkhram and Sing Buri.

The number of MPs per region will be:

  • Northeast 133
  • Central 122
  • Southern   60
  • Northern   37
  • Eastern   29
  • Western 19

There will be 400 constituency seats and 100 party-list seats in the next general election.

Thai PBS World logo 2023 03 04T110821.609

Thai PBS World logo 2023 03 04T163713.201

Related News




TrufflEat Olio Evo 300x207 1

Leave a Reply